top of page

To the Person I Once Told "I Love You"

To the person I'd once said "I love you,"

Goodbye.

You had once meant the world to me, or at least, that's what I thought. I don't know anymore. I've done so much thinking and so much wondering if I've ever been truthful to you. I don't know. I don't think so. That's why I'm saying goodbye.

I'm sorry I couldn't tell you. In truth, if I tried to speak, I'd never have the words; that's why I wrote this. I wrote this down because maybe then you'd understand what I am trying to say. You might call me a sociopath. You might call me heartless.

But this is who I am.

I don't think I can love, not in the way you love me. I thought everyone felt this way, but that's a lie. I can't describe it as anything but emptiness. That's what I feel when you say "I love you," because no matter how much I'm attracted to you, I can't love you.

Not like that.

So I say goodbye. I say goodbye to the liar. I say goodbye to who I was. I say goodbye because now I know, I only hurt you.

And I'm sorry.

Sincerely,

The one you once loved

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Smoke

Mercy

the place is colder now; shuttered, shuddered, curtain drawn and silent like a cathedral. my footsteps echo down the hall and the floorboards cry like it’ll be our salvation -- and won’t it? our lady

Alone 😞

alone is where I belong. by myself, in my house. just me, myself, and I. nothing else, not even pets. just a place where I can rest. and go to bed somewhere I feel at home, in my little oasis I call a

bottom of page